AHS Awards
© Copyright Daylily and Hosta Gardens in Simpsonville SC.  
All Rights Reserved.

All photos of Daylilies were taken by Cynthia Gibson and may not be duplicated.
American Hemerocallis
Daylily Awards

Winners for each AHS daylily award are
listed through the respective links below.
Stout Silver Medal - The highest award a daylily cultivar can receive, given in memory of
Dr. Arlow B. Stout, considered the father of modern daylily hybridizing.  Only one daylily variety
per year receives the Stout Silver Medal Award.  Winners must have previously received Award of
Merit and Honorable Mention to qualify.

Award of Merit - Awarded to 12 daylilies each year that are distinctive, beautiful and perform
well.  Must have previously received Honorable Mention Award.  

Honorable Mention - "Stamp of approval" by AHS that the daylily variety performs well.
Initial step towards becoming eligible for Stout Silver Medal Award.
LAA  -  Lenington All American - Best daylily performer over a wide geographic area.

IMA  -  Ida Munson Award - Most outstanding double flower daylily.

DCS  -  Don C. Stevens Award - Most outstanding eyed or banded daylily.

RWM  -  R.W. Munson Jr. Award - Most outstanding distinctly patterned daylily.

HOS  -  Harris Olson Spider Award - Most outstanding spider or spider variant.

L/W  -  Lambert Webster Award - Most outstanding unusual form daylily.

ESF  -  Eugene S. Foster Award - Most outstanding late blooming cultivar.

ESB  -  Early Season Bloom - Most outstanding early season bloom cultivar.

DFM  -  Donn Fischer Memorial Cup - Most outstanding miniature bloom under 3".

ATG  -  Annie T. Giles Award - Most outstanding daylily small flower 3"- 4.5".   

JEM  -  James E. Marsh Award - Best purple or lavender daylily.

LEP  -  L. Ernest Plouf Award - Most consistently fragrant dormant daylily.

ELD - Extra Large Diameter Award - Outstanding cultivars with blooms 7" or larger.
Previous Stout Silver
Medal Winners
Click on daylily photos
for descriptions.

Winners for each AHS
daylily award are listed
through the award link.

Photos and descriptions
for individual cultivars
are linked from their
respective awards page.